Author: Shivashankar Rao
Date: July 7th, 2019
Bangalore, India


The word, “nitya” is used in sanatana dharma in two ways-
Only ‘Atman” and ‘ Brahman’ fit in to the first meaning.

When used for Karmas, “nitya” includes obligatory duties to be
performed daily which naturally includes PANCHA MAHAYAJNAS in
addition to sandhya/gayatrijapa.


The five Yajnas are:
Brahma Yajna: To serve the Lord in Human form who is called Brahma.
Deva Yajna: To serve the devotees of the Lord.
Pitru Yajna: To serve the parents and the family members.
Manushya Yajna: To serve the incapable beggars.
Bhoota Yajna: To serve harmless animals and birds.

Brahmayajna is also called Rishiyajna. Here, Brahma means Vedas.
Since the Rishis have transmitted the knowledge of the Vedas, it is
our duty to recite the Vedas and also teach the youngsters,

Devayajna means sacrifice to Surya, Prajapati and Indra in a
consecrated fire. They give rains, crops and prosperity and so,
they have to be satiated.

Pitryajna consists of offering pindas (rice balls) and water
(arghya)to the forefathers.

Manushyayajna and Bhootayajna involves feeding the hungry human beings
and animals.

A grihasta is the pivot of the whole society as all other ashramas
depend on him for sustenance. His life itself is a yajna for the
good of the society.